मुझसे पहली सी मुहबबत मेरे महबूब ना माँग — नूर जहाँ

Growing up, I always got to listen to urdu sher-o-shairi and music that my mother played on her 78, 45 and 33 1/3 rpms whether I liked it or not, and I mostly did not like it.  It was too slow, boring, and incomprehensible.  The movie songs, on the other hand, were accessible, and I knew them all by heart.  My mother used to smile at my reaction and took to translating the shers for me and would spend hours expanding on the meaning and context for me to appreciate their real meaning.  I have never looked back.
Noor Jehan lived up to her name and did become the ‘light of the world’ in the way she lit up so many hearts with her voice.  This is one of my absolute favorite songs by her, and I have included several versions here.  I like them all. Note how her voice changes with time and still wows.
One time I sang this song at a festive gathering in the Pysch department at Lady Shri Ram College with one of my professors accompanying me on the tabla. I was scared, but it had to be this one, none other. Fast forward to the 90s. I asked my mother about it since I wanted to sing it and did not remember who had written it. She looked it up for me. Faiz Ahmad Faiz was someone she loved and I inherited that love from her.
Here is a link for the lyrics and translation of the song.
Here are some translations to help understand the words:
[daraKhshaa.N : shining; hayaat = life]
[Gam-e-dahar = sorrows of the world; aalam = world]
[sabaat = permanence; niguu.N = bow/subservient]
[faqat = merely; vasl = union/meeting; taariik = dark]
[bahiimaanaa = dreadful; talism = magic]
[resham = silk; atalas = satin; kam_Khvaab = brocade]
[jaa-ba-jaa = hither-thither; litha.De = covered/soaked in]
[amaraaz = diseases; tannuuro.n = ovens; piip = pus]
[naasuur = ulcer/a wound that won’t heal; dil_kash = heart-warming]
From http://www.urdupoetry.com/faiz11.html
After the various versions of the song, follow interviews and tributes to Mallika-e-tarranum Noor Jehan.
From the film Quaidi — .कैदी  — 1962 Director Najam Naqvi; Music Director Rashid Attre
Interview with mohterma noor jehan part 1
Interview with mohterma noor jehan part 2
Interview with mohterma noor jehan part 3
Interview with mohterma noor jehan part 4
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 1 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 2 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 3 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 4 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 5 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 6 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 7 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 8 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 9 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 10 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 11 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 12 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 13 of 14
Tribute to Noor Jehan part 14 of 14
NOOR-E- JAHAN PART-1 OF 3
NOOR-E- JAHAN PART-2 OF 3
NOOR-E- JAHAN PART-3 OF 3
[Anniversary Special] Rare Interview of Noor Jehan (1 of 3)
[Anniversary Special] Rare Interview of Noor Jehan (2 of 3)
[Anniversary Special] Rare Interview of Noor Jehan (3 of 3)
81st birth day special
Interview with her daughter and with her via telephone:
With gratitude and thanks, I add some links here from Mansoor sahib’s website.
Tere mukhray de kaala kaala til ve
Donon jahan teri mohabbat mein haar kay
Phir koi aaya dil-e-zaar nahin koi nahin
Aaj ki raat saaz-e-dil-e-pur dard
Aa keh waabasta hain us husn ki yaaden tujhse
